Reading Hub - Codsall Community High School
12122
page-template-default,page,page-id-12122,bridge-core-1.0.6,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-18.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.5,vc_responsive
 

Reading Hub

 

Our World Book Day Reading Challenge has officially started! Pupils in Years 9 – 11 have one month to read as much as they can and track their reading using our new 10 Second Reading Tracker. 

 

Want to find out more about the challenge? Check out Miss Ford’s explanation video here: Miss Fords Youtube Video

 

The challenge ends on World Book Day on 4th March. Follow our progress here! trackmyread.org

You’ll find lots of resources and information pertaining to reading here. Explore a wide range of fiction texts and audiobooks using Sora (if you are Year 9-10), access non-fiction websites, and engage yourself in reading challenges.

Can’t remember your Sora login? Email Miss Ford

Non-fiction websites:

 

Here’s a list of non-fiction websites for you to explore:

BBC Sport: www.bbc.co.uk/sport

The Verge gaming news: www.theverge.com/games

PC Gamer: www.pcgamer.com/uk/news

NBC Learn YouTube channel: www.youtube.com/Nbclearn/videos

The Washington Post – KidsPost: www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/kidspost

Google News: news.google.com/topstories

Kids Discover: online.kidsdiscover.com/home

National Geographic Kids: kids.nationalgeographic.com

Smithsonian: www.si.edu/learn-explore https://www.si.edu/learn-explore

Positive News: www.positive.news

Good News Network: www.goodnewsnetwork.org

Optimist Daily: www.optimistdaily.com

Word of the Day: www.merriam-webster.com/word-of-the-day

i Newspaper: inews.co.uk

New Scientist: www.newscientist.com/article-topic/sport

The Conversation: theconversation.com/uk/topics/sport-480

Youth Voices Commonwealth Youth Blog: www.yourcommonwealth.org

Monterey Bay Aquarium: www.montereybayaquarium.org/animals/live-cams

Houston Zoo: www.houstonzoo.org/explore/webcams

Zoo Atlanta: zooatlanta.org/panda-cam

Virtual tours: www.theguardian.com/travel/2020/mar/23/10-of-the-worlds-best-virtual-museum-and-art-gallery-tours